Young Reader Recs

4-8 years 

   

     

  

Middle Grade - Recommendations from Alex Z!

  

U of I fiction professor’s series of Harry Potter-like fantasy but set in the 2010s in Chicago.

Amazing balance of femme and male energy unlike Harry Potter. 

Amazing STEM focused graphic novel series about two best friends in Space.

They genetically engineer a two headed cat that has the power to destroy the universe.

Super fun!  

 

An amazing fantasy series for middle grade readers that challenges fairytale tropes by having the rebellious princess Cimorene befriend the supposedly evil Dragon Kazul.

So good!

 

This chapter book series co-written by and depicting the life of body positivity advocate Sarai Gonzales embraces the wild weird girl.

Sarai goes through life with confidence and an open heart and mind.

Just really good Latinx representation.

  

A grown up Bridge to Terabithia, this novel explores depression and anxiety in a fantastical setting within the protagonist’s mind.

The young character explores the power of imagination and learns how to lean on others for support.

    

Amazing mystery series for middle grade readers that brings puzzle solving and adventuring together in a series that would make Roald Dahl and David Walliams proud.

Great for young readers that may be reading above their reading level but aren’t quite ready for the YA section.

    

Stranger Things meets Super 8 in this middle grade graphic novel.

A young group of neighborhood boys have always wondered where the lights that ominously float on the edge of town lead to.

One summer night they decide to take the risk and follow them.

Friendships are tested, obstacles are braved, everyone grows up a little bit.

Action packed yet emotional, great for reluctant readers.

    

A controversial--though it shouldn’t be--graphic novel that talks about having your period in a system that refuses to be accomodating.

A group of period-having students rebel against their advisors and deans who refuse to listen to their plea to place more tampons in the bathrooms, both boy’s and girl’s. 

    

Fun fairytale detective series for fans of Land of Stories and Percy Jackson.

Two sisters are thrust into the middle of some of the darker Grimm Fairytales and must converse with monsters and villains to set the fairytale world to rights.

It’s Nancy Drew in the land of Enchantment. 

    

A graphic novel about mistaken identity and vampires!

Eleven year old A.J wants to impress a girl who is seriously into vampires, so he pretends to be one.

Little does he know that Nia is only into vampires becauses she’s a HUNTRESS!

Hilarity and danger ensue.

    

A wonderful graphic novel that explores how your family’s culture is a superpower in itself.

When our heroine puts on a beautiful scarf that was gifted to her by her grandmother she enters into a technicolor world full of Hindi lore and symbolism where she is a superhero. 

 

Young Adult

  

A cool Hindi god inspired fairytale about the god death and his quest for the goddess of memory. Lots of badass fight scenes with men and women treating each other with equality and respect. A good slow burn.

 

        

Staff Pick Badge
The Keepers: The Box and the Dragonfly Cover Image
By Ted Sanders, Iacopo Bruno (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062275837
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: HarperCollins - February 2nd, 2016

Sanity & Tallulah Cover Image
By Molly Brooks, Molly Brooks (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368022804
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 16th, 2018

Dealing with Dragons: The Enchanted Forest Chronicles, Book One Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780544541221
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 15th, 2015

Sarai and the Meaning of Awesome (Sarai #1) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781338236682
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: Scholastic Inc. - September 11th, 2018

The Mysterious Benedict Society Cover Image
By Trenton Lee Stewart, Carson Ellis (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780316003957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2008

Some Kind of Happiness Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781442466029
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 16th, 2017

This Was Our Pact Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781626720534
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: First Second - June 11th, 2019

Go with the Flow Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250143174
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: First Second - January 14th, 2020

Fairy-Tale Detectives (The Sisters Grimm #1): 10th Anniversary Edition Cover Image
By Michael Buckley, Peter Ferguson (Illustrator)
$8.95
ISBN: 9781419720055
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: Harry N. Abrams - May 2nd, 2017

Fake Blood Cover Image
By Whitney Gardner, Whitney Gardner (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781481495578
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2018

Pashmina Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781626720879
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: First Second - October 3rd, 2017

The Star-Touched Queen Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250100207
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 28th, 2017