AUTHOR STORYTIME!!

Join us for in person Storytime

with Local Author Alex Willan Author 

Unicorns are the Worst and his new book Dragons are the Worst!!

 

About The Author

Alex Willan grew up in Louisville, Kentucky, where he was seldom seen without his sketchbook in hand. His love of drawing led him to earn a BFA in illustration from Savannah College of Art and Design. Alex has exhibited in art galleries and has painted murals, theater sets, and squirmy kids’ faces, but his true love has always been children’s books. He lives in Chicago with his dog, Harley. Visit him online at Alex-Willan.Squarespace.com.

About The Books

Mo Willems meets Bob Shea in this uproariously funny picture book about Gilbert the Goblin from the creator of Unicorns Are the Worst!.

Gilbert the Goblin is absolutely, definitely, one-hundred-percent certain that dragons are the worst.

They burn down everything in sight and they hoard all the gold. They melt every ice cream cone within a mile radius, and everyone is afraid of them. But really, it’s the dragons who should be afraid of Gilbert and his tremendous goblin power!

…right?

Perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos and Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great, this wildly funny and imaginative picture book celebrates the value of differences as a grumpy goblin gets to know his new unicorn neighbors.

It’s an undeniable fact that unicorns are the worst!

Magic is serious business, but all unicorns do is frolic around, have tea parties, and leave glitter all over the place! They’re nothing like goblins—practical and hard-working, who can put magic to good use! Unicorns aren’t helpful at all.

Or are they?

 

We are taking a number of precautions to limit personal contact and follow social distancing guidelines:

  • Requiring all visitors over age 2 to wear masks that cover nose and mouth; if you do not have a mask, we will provide disposable masks
  • Requiring staff to wear masks
  • Advising staff to limit interactions to fewer than 15 minutes
  •  Encouraging frequent hand washing

Please help us keep our staff and others safe by:

  • Staying home if you’re experiencing symptoms of any illness per order of the Chicago Department of Public Health
  • Wearing a mask, which is required for all patrons over age 2, to cover your nose and mouth; if you don’t have one, we will provide disposable masks
  • Maintaining at least six feet of distance from staff and other patrons
  • Following the instructions of store and security staff
Event date: 
Saturday, September 25, 2021 - 10:30am to 11:00am
900 N. Michigan Ave
suite 517
Chicago, IL 60611
Dragons Are the Worst! Cover Image
By Alex Willan, Alex Willan (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534485112
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 7th, 2021

Unicorns Are the Worst! Cover Image
By Alex Willan, Alex Willan (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534453838
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 29th, 2020

Jasper & Ollie Build a Fort Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525645245
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: Doubleday Books for Young Readers - May 26th, 2020

Jasper & Ollie Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525645214
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: Doubleday Books for Young Readers - May 28th, 2019

Revver the Speedway Squirrel: The Big Race Home Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781547603671
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - November 9th, 2021

Revver the Speedway Squirrel Cover Image
By Sherri Duskey Rinker, Alex Willan (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547603619
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - October 6th, 2020