Author Conversation: Sarah Gailey & Ferret Steinmetz

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 

We are over the moon to welcome Hugo Award winning author Sarah Gailey here with Ferret Steinmetz to Volumes in June!

Sarah's novel MAGIC FOR LIARS drops June 4th! We are one of the first stops on their tour! They will be joined by Ferret Steinmetz, author of the Mancer series FLEX & FLUX. His new book (out June 11th) THE SOL MAJESTIC. (yes, we will have copies!)

ABOUT SARAH: Hugo award winner Sarah Gailey lives and works in Los Angeles, California. Their nonfiction has been published by Mashable and the Boston Globe, and their fiction has been published internationally. They are a regular contributor for Tor.com and Barnes & Noble. You can find links to their work at www.sarahgailey.com. They tweet@gaileyfrey.

About MAGIC FOR LIARS: Ivy Gamble was born without magic and never wanted it.

Ivy Gamble is perfectly happy with her life – or at least, she’s perfectly fine.

She doesn't in any way wish she was like Tabitha, her estranged, gifted twin sister.

Ivy Gamble is a liar.

When a gruesome murder is discovered at The Osthorne Academy of Young Mages, where her estranged twin sister teaches Theoretical Magic, reluctant detective Ivy Gamble is pulled into the world of untold power and dangerous secrets. She will have to find a murderer and reclaim her sister―without losing herself.

“An unmissable debut.”―Adrienne Celt, author of Invitation to a Bonfire

About FERRET STEINMETZ: FERRETT STEINMETZ is a graduate of both the Clarion Writers' Workshop and Viable Paradise, and was nominated for the Nebula Award in 2012, for his novelette Sauerkraut Station. He is the author of the 'Mancer trilogy, The Uploaded, and he has written for Asimov's Science Fiction, Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Shimmer, and Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine. Ferrett lives in Cleveland with his wife.

About THE SOL MAJESTIC: The Sol Majestic is a big-hearted and delightful intergalactic adventure for fans of Becky Chambers and The Good Place

"A feast of a book.”—Hugo Award-winning author Seanan McGuire

Kenna, an aspirational teen guru, wanders destitute across the stars as he tries to achieve his parents' ambition to advise the celestial elite.

Everything changes when Kenna wins a free dinner at The Sol Majestic, the galaxy's most renowned restaurant, giving him access to the cosmos's one-percent. His dream is jeopardized, however, when he learns his highly-publicized "free meal" risks putting The Sol Majestic into financial ruin. Kenna and a motley gang of newfound friends—including a teleporting celebrity chef, a trust-fund adrenaline junkie, an inept apprentice, and a brilliant mistress of disguise—must concoct an extravagant scheme to save everything they cherish. In doing so, Kenna may sacrifice his ideals—or learn even greater lessons about wisdom, friendship, and love.

Utterly charming and out of this world, Ferrett Steinmetz's The Sol Majestic will satisfy the appetites of sci-fi aficionados and newcomers alike.

 

Event date: 

Wednesday, June 5, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Event address: 

Magic for Liars: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250174611
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tor Books - June 4th, 2019

The Sol Majestic: A novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250168191
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tor Books - June 11th, 2019