Libertie (Large Print / Library Binding)

Libertie Cover Image
$33.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

April 2021 Indie Next List


Libertie is a beautifully written, immersive historical novel inspired by the story of a Black doctor and her daughter who lived in a free Black community in Brooklyn during the Reconstruction era. It is also a profound meditation on what it means to be truly free — whether born free or formerly enslaved, whether in America, Haiti, or Liberia — while struggling against grief, sexism, racism, colorism, or classism. Libertie’s quest to forge her own path is a much-needed inspiration!”
— Alyssa Raymond, Copper Dog Books, Beverly, MA

Description


"Pure brilliance. So much will be written about Kaitlyn Greenidge's Libertie--how it blends history and magic into a new kind of telling, how it spins the past to draw deft circles around our present--but none of it will measure up to the singular joy of reading this book." --Mira Jacob, author of Good Talk

The critically acclaimed and Whiting Award-winning author of We Love You, Charlie Freeman returns with an unforgettable story about the meaning of freedom.

Coming of age as a free-born Black girl in Reconstruction-era Brooklyn, Libertie Sampson was all too aware that her purposeful mother, a practicing physician, had a vision for their future together: Libertie would go to medical school and practice alongside her. But Libertie, drawn more to music than science, feels stifled by her mother's choices and is hungry for something else--is there really only one way to have an autonomous life? And she is constantly reminded that, unlike her mother
who can pass, Libertie has skin that is too dark. When a young man from Haiti proposes to Libertie and promises she will be his equal on the island, she accepts, only to discover that she is still subordinate to him and all men. As she tries to parse what freedom actually means for a Black woman, Libertie struggles with where she might find it--for herself and for generations to come.

Inspired by the life of one of the first Black female doctors in the United States and rich with historical detail, Kaitlyn Greenidge's new novel resonates in our times and is perfect for readers of Brit Bennett, Min Jin Lee, and Yaa Gyasi.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781432886530
ISBN-10: 1432886533
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: May 12th, 2021
Language: English