Chlorine Sky (Paperback)

Chlorine Sky Cover Image
$9.99
Not Yet Published

Description


A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X

She looks me hard in my eyes
& my knees lock into tree trunks
My eyes don't dance like my heartbeat racing
They stare straight back hot daggers.
I remember things will never be the same.
I remember things.

With gritty and heartbreaking honesty, Mahogany L. Browne delivers a novel-in-verse about broken promises, fast rumors, and when growing up means growing apart from your best friend.

About the Author


Mahogany L. Browne is the executive director of JustMedia, a media- literacy initiative designed to support the ground-work of criminal justice leaders and community members. This position is informed by her career as a writer, organizer, and educator. Mahogany has received fellowships from Agnes Gund, AIR Serenbe, Cave Canem, Poets House, Mellon Research, and Rauschenberg, and she founded the diverse literary campaign the Woke Baby Book Fair. She is also the author of Chlorine Sky, Woke: A Young Poet’s Call to Justice, Woke Baby, Black Girl Magic, the poetry collection I Remember Death by Its Proximity to What I Love, and Vinyl Moon. Mahogany is based in Brooklyn, New York, and is the first-ever poet in residence at Lincoln Center. You can find Mahogany online at mobrowne.com and @mobrowne.

Praise For…


"A profound reminder that sometimes the most revolutionary thing a girl can be is herself. I couldn't put it down." —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"A story about heart and backbone, and one only Mahogany L. Browne could bring forth." —Jason Reynolds, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down

"Browne’s searing and poignant writing will undoubtedly bring readers back to her stories again and again." —Renée Watson, New York Times bestselling author

"A searing voice that commands attention." —Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of the Belles series

"Chlorine Sky is a vivid literary balm that animates the English language with rhythm, heart, and radical truth telling love." Aja Monet, Nuyorican Poets Café Grand Slam Champion

"A remarkable, compelling voice." —The Bulletin, Starred Review 

"A coming-of-age novel for Black girls
who have been told they’re too much and yet never enough." Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593176429
ISBN-10: 0593176421
Publisher: Ember
Publication Date: January 3rd, 2023
Pages: 144
Language: English